
Signature
---
Clarence A Dold - Hidden Valley (Lake County) CA USA 38.8,-122.5
Just out oc curiosity, I checked the domain regiseter for
cingularwelcomekit.com.
It is registered to:
Registrant:
Imaging Technologies Services Inc
655 Lambert Drive
Atlanta, GA 30324
US
Domain Name: CINGULARWELCOMEKIT.COM
Administrative Contact :
Phan, Frank **
dns-mgr@itserve.com
655 Lambert Drive
Atlanta, GA 30324
US
Phone: 404-874-8400
Fax: 404-872-1215
Technical Contact :
Network Solutions, LLC.
customerservice@networksolutions.com
13200 Woodland Park Drive
Herndon, VA 20171-3025
US
Phone: 1-888-642-9675
Fax: 571-434-4620
This does not even come close to matching Cingulars registration:
Registrant:
Cingular Wireless II, LLC
(DOM-1374609)
5655 Glenridge Connector
Atlanta
GA
30342
US
Domain Name: cingular.com
Registrar Name: Markmonitor.com
Registrar Whois: whois.markmonitor.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.markmonitor.com
Administrative Contact:
Domain Manager
(NIC-14370002)
Cingular Wireless II, LLC
P. O. Box 97061
Redmond
WA
98052
US
domains@cingular.com
+1.4255808173
Fax- +1.4255801767
Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
DNS Administration
(NIC-14370004)
Cingular Wireless II, LLC
12550 Cingular Way
Data Center
Alpharetta
GA
30004
US
cingulardns@cingular.com
+1.8662652853
Fax- +1.6788674054
Created on..............: 2000-Aug-24.
Expires on..............: 2007-Aug-24.
Record last updated on..: 2005-Aug-10 11:14:02.
So is this a legitimate Cingular business partner or another company
trying to get your phone number?
>> Fedex just dropped off my wifes new nokia above and in the paper work
>> it says if you have not received the e-mail welcome kit go to:
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
>If you bought your phone other than online from Cingular, I don't think it
>will work.
Marty - 27 Oct 2005 20:04 GMT
Somewhere around Thu, 27 Oct 2005 10:06:17 -0700, while reading
alt.cellular.cingular, I think I thought I saw this post from SAA
<Refused@refused.com>:
>Just out oc curiosity, I checked the domain regiseter for
>cingularwelcomekit.com.
[snip]
>So is this a legitimate Cingular business partner or another company
>trying to get your phone number?
I doubt that they just want your phone number. In all my years of Cingular
cellular service, I've never once gotten a call from them, their partners,
or any other junk calls. Many companies hire "fullfillment" providers for
things like that; when it's something they don't regularly do, it's easier
to farm it out.

Signature
Marty - public.forums (at) gmail (dot) com
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...
well, I have others." - Groucho Marx
dold@XReXXcingu.usenet.us.com - 27 Oct 2005 20:44 GMT
> Just out oc curiosity, I checked the domain regiseter for
> cingularwelcomekit.com.
Cingular does that sort of thing. I don't think they realize how
unsettling it is to click on a link at cingular.com, and open a page that
is joes-hot-cingular-advice.com.
MOUSE2MOBILE.COM is one of them. infospace.com, and others.
welcomekit.cingular.com would have been a lot more comforting to me.
> So is this a legitimate Cingular business partner or another company
> trying to get your phone number?
One never knows, does one?
It isn't cingularwelcomekit.com that we need to trust in this case, but the
source that gave us that link.
It is referenced on the Cingular forums, but ...

Signature
---
Clarence A Dold - Hidden Valley (Lake County) CA USA 38.8,-122.5
Jeff - 27 Oct 2005 22:54 GMT
>> Just out oc curiosity, I checked the domain regiseter for
>> cingularwelcomekit.com.
[quoted text clipped - 15 lines]
>
>It is referenced on the Cingular forums, but ...
I didn't mean to cause any issues. Somebody asked for help on the
welcome kit and I had just got a letter included with my phone order
from cingular.com with the welcome kit link. After reading posts in
this group for over a year I thought I could finally give something
back.
I scanned the letter and hopefully it will attach to this message.
The other side of the letter was in a different language so I didn't
scan it. But if requested I will scan it too.
Jeff
Mark W. Oots - 28 Oct 2005 16:42 GMT
> Just out oc curiosity, I checked the domain regiseter for
> cingularwelcomekit.com.
[quoted text clipped - 5 lines]
> Atlanta, GA 30324
> US
Imaging Technologies is the company that handles all marketing *materials*
for Cingular. This includes "dummy" phones, brochures, price cards, rebate
forms, etc.
Mark
BTW, http://onlinestorez.cingular.com/cell-phone-service/media/pdf/CEN2.pdf