Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
General TopicsGSMBluetooth
Providers
AlltelATT WirelessCingularFidoNextelSprint PCST-MobileVerizon
Manufacturers
EricssonNokiaMotorola
Country Specific
Australian GroupUK Group
Related Topics
PocketPCPalmMore Topics ...

Cellular Phone Forum / Providers / Sprint PCS / January 2004

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

SCAMMING the SprintPCS referral program.

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Robert M. - 28 Jan 2004 14:24 GMT
is this legal ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
941
Captain - 28 Jan 2004 15:17 GMT
I don't think so, wouldn't it be fun to send this on to sprint and see what
they think, it'd get a good laugh out of me.

> is this legal ?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> 941
Bob Smith - 28 Jan 2004 15:23 GMT
> is this legal ?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> 941

Probably not. Those people did not refer those new customers. Sounds like a
good case of fraud against the retailer. I'm surprised that eBay hasn't
taken down the site yet.

Bob
Scott Nelson - 28 Jan 2004 16:05 GMT
I doubt it. Good catch.  ;-)

Scotty

> is this legal ?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> 941
Jesse - 29 Jan 2004 04:55 GMT
"Robert M." <rmarkoff@msn.com> wrote in news:rmarkoff-
1E3022.08245128012004@news05.west.earthlink.net:

>  is this legal ?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> 941

Don't know - You tell us, Mr. Black Ice.
What you don't say in your auction is that you can only ref once a
month,and at the end of 4 months,the other #'s are bound to be already
reffed.
Terry Knab - 29 Jan 2004 08:23 GMT
And this jerk-off has posted *more* of his damn referral scam auctions, and
ebay hasn't shut him down yet, O/Sirus, can you get this over to Fraud
Management?  or Corp. Security?  If he's really a dealer, he needs to be
shut down.

> "Robert M." <rmarkoff@msn.com> wrote in news:rmarkoff-
> 1E3022.08245128012004@news05.west.earthlink.net:
>
> >  is this legal ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> > 941
>
> Don't know - You tell us, Mr. Black Ice.
> What you don't say in your auction is that you can only ref once a
> month,and at the end of 4 months,the other #'s are bound to be already
> reffed.
O/Siris - 29 Jan 2004 10:55 GMT
In article <9q3Sb.19178$ph3.15947
@newssvr25.news.prodigy.com>, Terry
Knabtk@nospam4meknab.org says...
> And this jerk-off has posted *more* of his damn referral scam auctions, and
> ebay hasn't shut him down yet, O/Sirus, can you get this over to Fraud
> Management?  or Corp. Security?  If he's really a dealer, he needs to be
> shut down.

I'm definitely seeing what is to be done about this.

Signature

-+-
RX_
O/Siris
I work for SprintPCS
I *don't* speak for them.

plane - 29 Jan 2004 20:42 GMT
> In article <9q3Sb.19178$ph3.15947
> @newssvr25.news.prodigy.com>, Terry
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>
> I'm definitely seeing what is to be done about this.

I am neither defending or encouraging what he is doing---but if you
check the feedback on that item, no one is complaining; Unless you
have been harmed by the process, why do you really care--you can't
have fraud unless someone has been defrauded----it's just taking
advantage of the system--I have referred numerous people to sprint
over the years, and the $20 is a little incentive to do so---if the
guy is a dealer, he probably has multiple lines of phones he can offer
a customer---if he can make a little extra money by pushing a sprint
service  over another carrier, hasn't this accomplished sprints goal
of activating more phones----Personally, I am skeptical of the scheme,
but again, read his positive feedback--
Bob Smith - 29 Jan 2004 21:35 GMT
> O/Siris <0s?r?s@spr?ntpcs.c?m> wrote in message
news:<MPG.1a82a27469ced8a59899cc@netnews.comcast.net>...
> > In article <9q3Sb.19178$ph3.15947
> > @newssvr25.news.prodigy.com>, Terry
[quoted text clipped - 18 lines]
> of activating more phones----Personally, I am skeptical of the scheme,
> but again, read his positive feedback--

IMHO, Screw the positive feedback ...! None of those folks have physically
referred the new customers to SPCS. What's more, there is fraud. The fraud
is by doing these false referrals.

Most of have provided referrals and received the $20 credit on our bills,
but it was with people we actually knew or spoke to. The new phone numbers
are being supplied by a 3rd party with no contact between the two customers.

Bob
ZJ Driver - 31 Jan 2004 21:36 GMT
> > O/Siris <0s?r?s@spr?ntpcs.c?m> wrote in message
> news:<MPG.1a82a27469ced8a59899cc@netnews.comcast.net>...
[quoted text clipped - 30 lines]
> but it was with people we actually knew or spoke to. The new phone numbers
> are being supplied by a 3rd party with no contact between the two customers.

I wouldn't want my information being given out to complete strangers.  He's
probably hiding behind some marketing allowance.  Either way I'm sure Sprint
would like to know if one of their vendors or affiliates is doing this.
Gprestonian - 29 Jan 2004 17:30 GMT
The referral has to be done sooner than 4 mos after activation, anyway.

> "Robert M." <rmarkoff@msn.com> wrote in news:rmarkoff-
> 1E3022.08245128012004@news05.west.earthlink.net:
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>and at the end of 4 months,the other #'s are bound to be already
> reffed.
Quarterwave - 29 Jan 2004 20:28 GMT
Legal - not sure, it is a referral program with loose rules...

Conflict of interest...yes. He's a retailer, or works for one.

Look at www.blackicehaven.com (He's into fatasy art, his previous eBay name
indicated something like that as well)

Bottm left menu link, TRICOM WIRELESS, now the link is dead, hasnt been
input yet, but it is a dead giveaway. Search Tricom wireless on Yahoo and
they are a Sprint partnered retail in the Domiinican Republic. Someone needs
to take his deal and find out where the numbers he gives you for referral
are out of. I bet its then Dom Rep.

It shouldn't take them long to get him. Ebay will probably release his info
to Sprint as their is a clear indication of fraud, even if not "illegal" in
public law terms. Ebay doesnt care to support these deals and further a
fraud, besides at $20 they arent getting a big percentage off of this guy
and certainly have bigger fish to fry.

Q

> "Robert M." <rmarkoff@msn.com> wrote in news:rmarkoff-
> 1E3022.08245128012004@news05.west.earthlink.net:
>
> >  is this legal ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3074733893&category=15
> > 941
>
> Don't know - You tell us, Mr. Black Ice.
> What you don't say in your auction is that you can only ref once a
> month,and at the end of 4 months,the other #'s are bound to be already
> reffed.
Terry Knab - 29 Jan 2004 21:51 GMT
From the Whois database:

Registrant:
Black Ice Haven
3439 Arroyo Seco Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90065
US

Domain name: BLACKICEHAVEN.COM

Administrative Contact:
   Cypher, John  blackicehaven@hotmail.com
   3439 Arroyo Seco Ave
   Los Angeles, CA 90065
   US
   213-999-9936    Fax: 323-222-9986

A scan of the telcodata base shows the phone # listed is/was a VERIZON
wireless number.

Can you hear us now!?

> Legal - not sure, it is a referral program with loose rules...
>
[quoted text clipped - 29 lines]
> > month,and at the end of 4 months,the other #'s are bound to be already
> > reffed.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.