Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
General TopicsGSMBluetooth
Providers
AlltelATT WirelessCingularFidoNextelSprint PCST-MobileVerizon
Manufacturers
EricssonNokiaMotorola
Country Specific
Australian GroupUK Group
Related Topics
PocketPCPalmMore Topics ...

Cellular Phone Forum / Providers / Sprint PCS / March 2008

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

SPAM Text Message Questions

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
John Holmes - 25 Mar 2008 17:34 GMT
Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as follows:

"from market@fastloanopt.com

Subject: loan. 1500 loan, no credit check

Message:No credit check or fax needed, instant online approval.
wwwfastloanopt.com"

How they got my Sprint mobile number, in order to send me that SPAM, is
unknown.  I give my number only to a few family members.

This morning I went to that web site on my regular Internet browser, and it
is parked--it is not even activated!

It seems that, even had I responded to the text message, I would not have
been considered for a "loan."

So what gives?  What is the point in some SPAMMER sending messages and using
an invalid return URL?  Are they phishing?

I phoned Sprint and they blocked further messages from that sender, but I am
curious as to what the objective was in sending me the message in the first
place.

Anyone know what's going on???
TL Mitchell - 26 Mar 2008 05:47 GMT
> Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as
> follows:

<snipped>

I got the same text, my line is new with a never-before-issued number that
no one has. Unless someone at Sprint is peddling numbers I'd guess they use
automated diallers to mass-text spam. I used to have consecutively numbered
lines in my home. Right after I'd drop the hammer on one telemarketer I'd
get another on the other line.

What I don't get is if everyone's annoyed and nobody does business with
these geeks how can it possibly be a worthwhile way to drum up business?
Unless those same clowns that send money to that Nigerian Colonel are
patronizing the spammers too.......

TL
Dutch - 26 Mar 2008 14:51 GMT
While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
say:

> Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as follows:
>
[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
> So what gives?  What is the point in some SPAMMER sending messages and using
> an invalid return URL?  Are they phishing?

It looks like someone got ahead of themselves and sent out the spam run
before the site was ready. The domain was registered on Mar. 24th. :-)

> I phoned Sprint and they blocked further messages from that sender, but I am
> curious as to what the objective was in sending me the message in the first
> place.
>
> Anyone know what's going on???

I believe the majority of the text spam originates as email sent through
one of the many SMS mail-to-text gateways, likely just using sequential
numbering. The cost to send it is so low that the spammers don't care if
a lot of the addresses bounce. Since I pay per message, I've blocked
most of the major gateways in my SMS filter using my online Sprint
account's "Message Settings". Here's the list that I have blocked so
far:

cingularme.com
email.uscc.net
ivctext.com
lolatext.com
message.alltel.com
message.sprintpcs.com
msg.acsalaska.com
mymetropcs.com
nmode.com
pcs.rogers.com
qwestmp.com
sms.sasktel.com
teleflip.com
tmomail.net
txt.att.net
utext.com
vmobil.com
vmobile.ca
vtext.com
vzwpix.com

Since I've blocked those gateways, the only text messages I've gotten
are free ones from Sprint CS.

Signature

Dutch

John Holmes - 26 Mar 2008 18:07 GMT
> While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
> say:
[quoted text clipped - 65 lines]
> Since I've blocked those gateways, the only text messages I've gotten
> are free ones from Sprint CS.

Where id this setting?  I did not see it on the Sprint Web Site.
Dutch - 26 Mar 2008 18:23 GMT
While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
say:

>> While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
>> say:
>>
>>> Last night, just before midnight, I received a SPAM text message as
>>> follows:

[...]
>>> Anyone know what's going on???
>>
[quoted text clipped - 31 lines]
>
> Where id this setting?  I did not see it on the Sprint Web Site.

I log in to my account, and then click on "View My Online Tools" on the
right side center of the page. Next, in the "Communication Tools"
section on the left, I click on "Open Text Messaging", and then
"Settings & Preferences" in the "Text Messaging Options" box to get to
the "SMS Text Messaging" entry box. Each domain has to be added
individually, but that's not much work for the relief from spam it
gives... :-)

Signature

Dutch

Dutch - 26 Mar 2008 18:25 GMT
While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard Dutch say:

> While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
> say:
[...]
>> Where id this setting?  I did not see it on the Sprint Web Site.
>
[quoted text clipped - 5 lines]
> individually, but that's not much work for the relief from spam it
> gives... :-)

I should have added that you need to do the filter entries individually
for each phone you have, even if they're under one account...

Signature

Dutch

John Holmes - 27 Mar 2008 15:45 GMT
> While dumping the alt.cellular.sprintpcs bit bucket, I heard John Holmes
> say:
[quoted text clipped - 49 lines]
> individually, but that's not much work for the relief from spam it
> gives... :-)

Found it!  Thanks!
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.