Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
General TopicsGSMBluetooth
Providers
AlltelATT WirelessCingularFidoNextelSprint PCST-MobileVerizon
Manufacturers
EricssonNokiaMotorola
Country Specific
Australian GroupUK Group
Related Topics
PocketPCPalmMore Topics ...

Cellular Phone Forum / Country Specific / UK Group / May 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Has anybody heard of the company mobilerainbow.com

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
michael@yahoo.com - 28 May 2005 22:51 GMT
Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
Seems to good to be true.

Michael
JohnU - 29 May 2005 01:59 GMT
> Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
> some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
> Seems to good to be true.

It does seem too good to be true. Perhaps foolishly, I decided to risk
it on one of their SIM free phones, but the payment form asked me for
direct debit details as well as credit card.

I was prepared to risk my credit card details, but not my bank account,
not when there's no need for that info.

Needless to say I bottled out at that stage - probably a good thing!

If anyone knows that they're legit, I'd like to know. But I suspect I
narrowly escaped my own greed and stupidity.

John
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 11:58 GMT
>> Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
>> some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
> If anyone knows that they're legit, I'd like to know. But I suspect I
> narrowly escaped my own greed and stupidity.

£104 for a D500??? Aye right...
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 12:00 GMT
> If anyone knows that they're legit, I'd like to know. But I suspect I
> narrowly escaped my own greed and stupidity.

Notice that when you add an item to your basket and go to checkout, a 3-NEC
phone appears as the item you've ordered...
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 12:20 GMT
> Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
> some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
> Seems to good to be true.

When ordering the site isn't even secure (HTTPS), so your details could go
'anywhere'... also, i've filled it in with fake details for everything, and
it's accepted it :-)
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 12:20 GMT
>> Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
>> some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
[quoted text clipped - 3 lines]
> 'anywhere'... also, i've filled it in with fake details for everything,
> and it's accepted it :-)

msxml3.dll error '80072ee2'

The operation timed out

/formb.asp, line 111

BOO! still a con - AVOID FOR NOW!
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 12:24 GMT
>>> Just doing a search on the Company www.mobilerainbow.com . They have
>>> some interesting deals. There company trading name is www.MSOLS.com
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
>
> BOO! still a con - AVOID FOR NOW!

Sorry to go on a bit about this, but their so-called SSL HTTPS effort
doesn't actually work... plus the grammar in the terms and conditions is
apalling. I'm quite worried people will try sign up with their own details
for this.
JohnU - 31 May 2005 22:47 GMT
> When ordering the site isn't even secure (HTTPS), so your details could go
> 'anywhere'... also, i've filled it in with fake details for everything, and
> it's accepted it :-)

Although I didn't enter my CC or bank details on their website, I did
submit my real name & mobile number.

Well, guess who called me today? Was I interested in buying a mobile phone?

The line was so bad that I could understand about one word in three the
caller said. I haven't had much experience of making international calls
to anywhere but the USA, but this sounded like she was calling from
abroad (perhaps the moon or Mars, it was that bad. That or she was using
an analogue mobile and driving through a tunnel. <shrug>

I explained that I was at work and couldn't talk, and the lady said she
would call back. No-one has, though... yet. Have I just consigned myself
to a life of telesales calls on my mobile? I've pretty much escaped them
so far.

Such is the price of entering your details on a dodgy-looking website, I
guess. <bangs head on desk>

J.
Mike - 29 May 2005 15:13 GMT
Found this in their T&C's:-

[quote]
Is it mandatory for me to take out mobile phone insurance while ordering
phone from Mobile rainbow?

Yes. It is mandatory with all the pay monthly contract deals. Insurance
cover is free for 1st 3 months and afterwards you need to pay £ 5.99 per
month. Insurance is cancelable at anytime by giving 30 days written notice.

If you cancel your insurance policy within the minimum term of the
contract, you will not be paid some or all of the cash backs offered
along with the deal. [end quote]

But could find nothing about how their cashbacks work.

Spamtrap - Remove my footwear to reply
Yozzi - 29 May 2005 16:41 GMT
> If you cancel your insurance policy within the minimum term of the
> contract, you will not be paid some or all of the cash backs offered along
> with the deal. [end quote]
>
> But could find nothing about how their cashbacks work.

Yeah, fair enough; but £104 sim free D500? That's just bs.
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.