Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
General TopicsGSMBluetooth
Providers
AlltelATT WirelessCingularFidoNextelSprint PCST-MobileVerizon
Manufacturers
EricssonNokiaMotorola
Country Specific
Australian GroupUK Group
Related Topics
PocketPCPalmMore Topics ...

Cellular Phone Forum / Country Specific / UK Group / March 2006

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

Anyone want a laugh?

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Reestit Mutton - 30 Mar 2006 20:52 GMT
During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the
following site:

http://www.mobilechoice.co.uk/

What I find most laughable about this site is their top sellers
list...it's like something out of the arc, yet there is a statement at
the top of the page saying  site updated: 30/3/2006 (yeah, right! we all
know how to use a simple bit of code to display the current date, don't we?)

RM
Signature

FS: brand new SonyEricsson W900i (upgrade handset)
see uk.adverts.telecom.mobile for details

Lobster - 30 Mar 2006 23:18 GMT
> During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the
> following site:
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
> know how to use a simple bit of code to display the current date, don't
> we?)

Yebbut to be fair it does also say it's closed for refurbishment...
although a holding page might be a better option!

David
Reestit Mutton - 30 Mar 2006 23:34 GMT
>> During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the
>> following site:
[quoted text clipped - 11 lines]
>
> David

I may well have been pushing it at 4-5 months with my website "refurb",
but what kind of refurbishment takes a couple of YEARS? (that's how old
I reckon the page is from the contents of the top sellers list)

RM
Signature

FS: brand new SonyEricsson W900i (upgrade handset)
see uk.adverts.telecom.mobile for details

R. Mark Clayton - 30 Mar 2006 23:55 GMT
> During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the following
> site:
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
>
> RM

Can't work out if this is a Spam promo or whether we are getting the cold
shoulder [of mutton].
Reestit Mutton - 31 Mar 2006 12:50 GMT
>>During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the following
>>site:
[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
> Can't work out if this is a Spam promo or whether we are getting the cold
> shoulder [of mutton].

Neither.

I've always had a bee in my bonnet wrt websites that publish false
claims on their front pages to make themselves seem to be something that
they are not...IIRC, there was discussion a while back about a site that
used a random number generator for their current visitor counter.

These days its common for people to use a simple current date statement
in their HTML generation to make their site seem to be regularly updated
when it's not - this particular site is simply a rather blatant example
of that particular practice.

RM
Signature

www.reestitmutton.co.uk

Bringing you the best-value mobile phone contract deals in the UK
Presented the way it should be...in plain English

hairydog@despammed.com - 01 Apr 2006 00:27 GMT
>These days its common for people to use a simple current date statement
>in their HTML generation to make their site seem to be regularly updated
>when it's not - this particular site is simply a rather blatant example
>of that particular practice.

Sometimes it isn't deliberately misleading. A website we developed
(but didn't host) used to use javascript to display the file date of
each page, and that showed the user when it was last updated.

Then one week the hosting company changed something, and it always
displayed the current date. I suspect that they were copying the files
elsewhere each day, but I never got to the bottom of it. I just
removed the file date code.

Signature

Iain
the out-of-date hairydog guide to mobile phones
http://www.hairydog.co.uk/cell1.html
Browse now while stocks last!

Neil Monk - 31 Mar 2006 16:19 GMT
>> During one of my casual trawls of the internet I came across the
>> following site:
[quoted text clipped - 9 lines]
> Can't work out if this is a Spam promo or whether we are getting the
> cold shoulder [of mutton].

I must admit Mark, I thought it was a spamming c*nt using RM's name to post
with. I'm still confused now tbh.

Oh well.....!

Signature

Neil
- www.neilmonk.com -
- Change the colour to Blue to email me -

 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.