>My guess is that he's trying to set up a cell phone
>contract exchange site. For example you get out of
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
>there is some possibility it's a screwy but legitimate
>thing. The site is titled exchange right?
Screwy? Yes. Legitimate? It's a matter of opinion.
If this is truly a contract trading program, you know damn well that
VZW and all other carriers will hold the *original* contract holder to
the terms contained therein, so participating in such a program would
require an inordinate amount of trust in strangers to comply with and
fulfill the terms of *your* contract. If they fail to do so, the
carrier will look to you for the balance of the contract term.
So the real question is how much trust is a sane person willing to put
into a spammer's hands? And this one spams a site that isn't even up
and running yet. A quick Google search found no such programs in
existence on the web, so it may be just this spammer's pipe dream
project that will never get off the ground.
CC'd to the spamming idiot because I haven't had any fun with spammers lately.
> with the person to trade contracts with? I'm assuming
> there is some possibility it's a screwy but legitimate
> thing. The site is titled exchange right?
I doubt it's legitimate.
For one thing, he's charging more than it would cost the customer if they
just paid the ETF directly.
For another thing, there's no useful contact info on the website (w, and if
you WHOIS celltradeusa.com, you'll see that they registered with Network
Solutions using the "private registration" feature.
Also, I clicked on one of the informational links - you have to *register*
to find out what he's about.
He claims you save $200 per contract. Bullshit. Do any of the carriers even
*charge* $200?
Spammy spammed a buttload of Usenet newsgroups and web-based cell forums
(use google's web search to search for theclearanceguy@aol.com and you'll
see some of the web posts, and obviously you can see the crap he posted in
Usenet on groups.google.com). I doubt he'd have the balls to actually post
here and describe what he's doing.
Hm. Too bad he's paying top dollar to AOL. They have rules against spamming
and they *do* terminate spammers' accounts.
Hey spamslug, why don't you show up here in alt.cellular.verizon and explain
why you're legitimate? My bet is that you won't because you're trying to
defraud people. Prove me wrong. In fact, if you prove me wrong I'll
publically apologize (although you're still spamming, so I'm still going to
report you to AOL and whichever provider you're using for Usenet access).
So? Guts, or no guts, TheClearanceGuy?

Signature
JustThe.net - Steve Sobol / sjsobol@JustThe.net / PGP: 0xE3AE35ED
Coming to you from Southern California's High Desert, where the
temperatures are as high as the gas prices! / 888.480.4NET (4638)
"Life's like an hourglass glued to the table" --Anna Nalick, "Breathe"
Quick - 29 Jun 2005 19:31 GMT
> CC'd to the spamming idiot because I haven't had any fun
> with spammers lately.
[quoted text clipped - 7 lines]
> For one thing, he's charging more than it would cost the
> customer if they just paid the ETF directly.
Oh... I must have missed the one that he was charging $200.
I was just thinking that VZW does allow you to transfer financial
responsibility for an account from one person to another. I have
no idea whether the other carriers do or not. Just trying to figure
out what the deal is. Can't imagine it's as dumb as "Pay me more
than the ETF and I'll get you out of your contract".
It's spam no question. Almost invariably these things that
are not completely up front are a scam as well. Maybe AOL
will terminate him for a slight delay.
-Quick
> For another thing, there's no useful contact info on the
> website (w, and if you WHOIS celltradeusa.com, you'll see
[quoted text clipped - 29 lines]
>
> So? Guts, or no guts, TheClearanceGuy?
Steve Sobol - 29 Jun 2005 20:48 GMT
> Oh... I must have missed the one that he was charging $200.
mmm... that was from upthread... it doesn't say much on the site. I did get
a one-line reply from Spamboy, and I replied to *his* reply asking what he
gets out of this deal - I don't think he's doing it out of the goodness of
his heart.

Signature
JustThe.net - Steve Sobol / sjsobol@JustThe.net / PGP: 0xE3AE35ED
Coming to you from Southern California's High Desert, where the
temperatures are as high as the gas prices! / 888.480.4NET (4638)
"Life's like an hourglass glued to the table" --Anna Nalick, "Breathe"